List of Member States of the CSTO, the Fractal Communities of the Soviet Union


Share post:

- Advertisement -

The Collective Security Treaty Organization (CSTO) is a military alliance consisting of a number of former Soviet Union countries. According to the CSTO’s official website, this alliance departed from an agreement called the Collective Security Treaty signed in Tashkent, Uzbekistan, on May 15, 1992. There were six ex-Soviet Union countries that signed the Collective Security Treaty, namely Russia, Armenia, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, Tajikistan and Uzbekistan.

In Article 4 of the Collective Security Treaty it reads, “If one of the State Parties becomes the target of aggression by a country or a group of countries, then this will be considered as aggression against all the States Parties to this Treaty. In the event of an act of aggression against any of the participating States, all other participating States will provide him with the necessary assistance, including military assistance, and will also provide any support at their disposal in exercising the right to collective defense in accordance with Article 51 of the UN Charter.” The Collective Security Treaty was originally set for a five-year term and had the option of being extended. The agreement is basically a regional agreement that plays an important role in maintaining close cooperation and understanding in the military and political fields.

Over time, there has been a major change in which the Collective Security Council, aka the Collective Security Council, is of the opinion that the Collective Security Treaty is not enough to just be an agreement. On May 14, 2002, the Collective Security Council finally decided to change the status of the Collective Security Treaty to become an international regional organization and become the CSTO.

- Advertisement -

The following is a list of full member countries of the CSTO.

  1. Armenia joined in 1994
  2. Belarus joined in 1994
  3. Kazakhstan joined in 1994
  4. Kyrgyzstan joined in 1994
  5. Tajikistan joined in 1994

In addition, there are also former members who had joined the CSTO but decided to leave the alliance. The following are former CSTO member countries.

  1. Azerbaijan entered 1994 left 1999
  2. Georgia entered 1994 left 1999
  3. Uzbekistan entered and left the CSTO twice. First entry 1994 exit 1999. Second entry 2006 exit 2012.

What does the Collective Security Treaty Organization do?

The force is intended to be used to repulse military aggression, conduct anti-terrorist operations, fight transnational crime and drug trafficking, and neutralize the effects of natural disasters. Belarus and Uzbekistan initially refrained from signing on to the agreement.

What is the difference between NATO and CSTO?

NATO places a large emphasis on obligatory action and unquestionable commitment towards the defense of the alliance. In comparison, the CSTO stresses the voluntary nature of collective defense and the supremacy of national sovereignty over collective action.

Are NATO and CSTO enemies?

Acting as a security regime, the CSTO nowadays formally cooperate with different security-oriented organizations and stakeholders; nevertheless, it has no cooperation with its western counterpart, NATO.

- Advertisement -

Related articles

Discovery of Mysterious Deep-Sea Creature Sends Shockwaves Across the Globe

A scientific expedition exploring previously uncharted depths of the ocean has stumbled upon a never-before-seen sea creature. Images...

10 Morning Habits That Have Made Me More Productive and Happier

Morning is a crucial time in our lives. How we start our day can have a significant impact...

The Savory Traditional Japanese Dish That’s Gone Global “koya”

Koya, a term that may still be unfamiliar to many outside of Japan, refers to a traditional dish...

Sambal Fried Potatoes with Chicken Liver: A Symphony of Savory Delights

Sambal fried potatoes with chicken liver is a dish that harmonizes the crispy texture of potatoes with the...